The historical town of Arundel

​Arundel is a small hilltop town at the head of the Arun gap with a skyline dominated by the Castle.  It was built at the end of the 11th century by Roger de Montgomery, Earl of Arundel and has been the seat of the dukes of Norfolk and Earls of Arundel for over 700 years.

 

In 1643, during the Civil war, the original castle was badly damaged by cannon, fired by Cromwell's army from the steeple of St. Nicholas' Church.  It was later restored in the 18th and 19th centuries.  Amongst its treasures is a fascinating collection of fine furniture dating from the 16th century, tapestries, clocks, and portraits by artists including Van Dyke, Gainsborough, Reynolds and Mytens.

 

St. Nicholas Church at Arundel is unique in being Roman, Catholic and Protestant under one roof.         John Hansom, who invented the Hansom cab, designed the soaring spire of the Roman Catholic Cathedral, a well known landmark of Arundel.  Arundel has a rich mixture of medieval and Victorian architecture, cobbled streets, narrow lanes, and antique shops, small museums and tea-rooms.

Park Farm, Arundel, West Sussex, BN18 0AG

Call us:

01903 366817 - 07885 638321